May Squash News

May News


League Review


The May league winners were: –




1 – Josh Davis – 28

2 – Darren Packham – 22

3 – Dave Traynor – 16

4 – Sam Gilliland – 22

5 – Sunny Creasey – 27

6 – Lou Thomas – 13


Josh Davis for the fifth month in a row won division 1, doing so while also being the champion of champions and recording the second highest score of all time in division 1.   Sunny Creasey wasn’t far behind in the race to be the champion of champions, scoring just 1 less point, and picking up my performance of the month for his 3-0 victory over Paul Goulder.


Racketball Leagues


For the second month running Dave Traynor has managed to prevent Josh from claiming the Squash and Racketball double.  Division 2 was won by Trevor McAlister with 5 points.


Due to the difficulty faced by many in trying to get Squash and Racketball league matches played in a single month the format for the racketball will be changed in June, with the leagues being replaced by the racketball Pyramid.


The goal is to make it easier for people to take part in both the squash leagues and the racketball pyramid, while enabling those more focussed on their racketball to find it easier to get opponents.


Club Closed Competition


Congratulations to Ross Goodwin who last Saturday became the club champion for the second time.  It was a hard fought match against Andy Cummings, with Ross needing to come back from being 2 games down, and surviving 2 match balls.


The match was Andy’s second final in the last two years, after last year losing 10-9 in fifth against Neil Weston in one of the most memorable finals in recent times.  After twice coming so close to winning the trophy it’s surely just a matter of time.


The racketball finals were just as thrilling as the squash, with Josh Davis going 2-0 up and looking unstoppable.  In the third game he elected to go for set 1, at 14-14, and after a tense rally, George Pace prevailed to win the third and gain the momentum he needed to go on and win the match 3-2.  Congratulations George for an extraordinary comeback.


The other finals were the Men’s B which was won by Dave Traynor, who defeated Michael Frisby, and the Racketball doubles, which were won by Mark Pace & Josh Davis, who beat Dave Traynor and Trevor McAlister.


The ladies competition had their final played a week earlier, with Carol House defeating Laura Titterington.


Many thanks to all of you who took part and contributed to this year’s competition, and to those who came down to support the semi’s and finals.  We were all rewarded with some outstanding displays of squash and racketball, and I hope to see you all taking part in next seasons event, which hopefully will be arranged around November.